Gopperth Triumphs at RPA Awards 2017

Wasps fly-half Jimmy Gopperth capped off an extraordinary season by being named the Players' Player of the the Year at the 19th annual RPA Players’ Awards 2017 in association with England Rugby.

On a night where All Blacks legend Dan Carter became the latest inductee into the RPA Hall of Fame in association with KPMG, Gopperth polled the most number of votes from his fellow players to complete a memorable season for the 33-year-old. The New Zealand-born sharpshooter has been in outstanding form for Wasps this season, topping the Aviva Premiership’s points scoring tally with 266, and proving a dominant force in the club’s quest to win their first league title since 2007/08. Gopperth said upon winning his award: “I’m very humbled and surprised to win this award and I am even more proud for the recognition shown by my fellow players. I am very lucky to be part of such a driven and successful club and my teammates deserve this award as much as I do. I’m sure I will look back at this moment down the track and be extremely proud.” Other notable award winners on the night included Zach Mercer as the RPA Young Player of the Year, Owen Farrell as The England Player of the Year in association with Beats, Tamara Taylor as the O2 England Women’s Player of the Year and Harlequins great Nick Easter was named the 2017 recipient of the RPA Special Merit Award in association with Premiership Rugby.

You can find a full list of all our winners below.  

The RPA Players' Player of the Year in association with England Rugby Winner: Jimmy Gopperth – Wasps

Nominated: Elliot Daly – Wasps Nominated: Owen Farrell – Saracens Nominated: Louis Picamoles – Northampton Saints Nominated: Christian Wade – Wasps  

The RPA Young Player of the Year Winner: Zach Mercer – Bath Rugby

Nominated: Ellis Genge – Leicester Tigers Nominated: Alex Lozowski – Saracens Nominated: Joe Marchant – Harlequins Nominated: Ross Moriarty – Gloucester Rugby  

The England Player of the Year in association with Beats Winner: Owen Farrell

Nominated: Joe Launchbury Nominated: Courtney Lawes  

The Secure Trading England Sevens Player of the Year Winner: Richard de Carpentier

Nominated: Ruaridh McConnochie Nominated: Tom Mitchell Nominated: Dan Norton

The 02 England Women's Player of the Year Winner: Tamara Taylor

Nominated: Harriet Millar-Mills Nominated: Emily Scarratt  

The Greene King IPA Championship Player of the Year Winner: Mark Bright – Ealing Trailfinders

Nominated: Ryan Burrows – Yorkshire Carnegie Nominated: James Marshall – London Irish  

The Personal Development Programme Award Winner: Nick de Luca – Wasps

Nominated: Tom Court – London Irish Nominated: Sam Smith – Former Worcester Warriors and Harlequins  

The RPA Special Merit Award in association with Premiership Rugby Winner: Nick Easter  

The RPA Blyth Spirit Award in association with Towergate Insurance Winner: Paul Van-Zandvliet  

The RPA Hall of Fame Induction in association with KPMG Winner: Dan Carter  

To book your place at the RPA Players’ Awards 2018 please call 020 3053 6670 or email Martin Olima on