The RPA is pleased to announce a second new award to be presented at The RPA Computacenter Players Awards 2012 on Wednesday 23rdMay at the Grosvenor House Hotel.

This year will see the inaugural presentation of the Aviva Player Development Award. This award recognises the player who has engaged with The RPA Player Development Programme (PDP) and demonstrated significant progress in their personal development as well as a clear pathway toward their career after rugby.

This award is to reflect the work being done behind the scenes encouraging players to build skills and qualifications in preparation for life after rugby, whilst also developing well rounded individuals during actual playing careers. The RPA Player Development Programme is delivered by six Player Development Managers based around the country who each look after two clubs.

Aviva has been the title sponsor of Premiership Rugby since July 2010 and became an Official Partner of The RPA in 2011. Aviva are proud supporters of The RPA Player Development Programme and have already established the Aviva Insight Programme which provides a business mentoring scheme giving Premiership players access to Aviva Senior Leaders who will offer advice and guidance in specific areas of business which they believe best suits their skill sets and could prove vital on the road to starting a new career after rugby.

Louisa Cheetham, Rugby Sponsorship Manager at Aviva, said:

At Aviva we are determined to go beyond the traditional role of sponsor. We are keen to help players with their off-field development and ultimately the transition into their future careers. We all know how fragile careers in professional sport can be and we are in the privileged position whereby we can give players an opportunity to benefit from the expertise of successful businessmen and women. This award highlights the importance of an individuals personal and professional development as well as the success of their sporting career.

The RPA would also like to welcome TAG Heuer as the new sponsor of the TAG Heuer Special Merit Award 2012. TAG Heuer is the final award sponsor to be announced and The RPA is delighted to have another prestigious brand joining our existing sponsors on the evening.

Founded in 1860 by Edouard Heuer, TAG Heuer has set many major milestones in high-end watchmaking and is one of the largest, most desired brands in the luxury watch industry. The Swiss giant draws upon its active engagement in the world of sports to create the most accurate timing instruments and watches in the world. TAG Heuer is proud to be the Official Watch of England Rugby as well as developing an on-going relationship with the RPA and its members.

Kirsten Kilby, Head of Marketing  TAG Heuer UK  Ireland said:

We are delighted to sponsor the Special Merit Award as it recognises not only the personal dedication to performance and sportsmanship, but also the discipline and passion that drives these individuals in their accomplishments  values shared by TAG Heuer.

Previous winners of the TAG Heuer Special Merit Award include:

2003 Jason Leonard

2004 Martin Johnson

2005 Lawrence Dallaglio

2006 Tony Diprose

2007  Will Greenwood

2008 Jason Robinson

2009 Mike Catt

2010 Simon Shaw

2011 Danny Grewcock

If you would like any further information or to book a tableat The RPA Computacenter Players Awards 2012 please contact Louise Kaiser on 020 8831 7930 or LKaiser@theRPA.co.uk


Patrick Giffney
020 8831 7930