RFU Championship Player of the Year Award Shortlist


Following the recent announcement that the RPA (Rugby Players’ Association) will include a new RFU Championship Award at the RPA Computacenter Players’ Awards 2013, the shortlist of nominees has today been confirmed.

The RFU Championship Player of the Year Award is recognition of the outstanding talent in the Championship and the winner will be unveiled during the awards ceremony to be held at Battersea Evolution, London, on Wednesday 22nd May. Further award nominations will be announced later this week.

The nominees are:


  • Stevie McColl – Leeds Carnegie
  • Tim Streather – Nottingham Rugby
  • Guy Thompson – Jersey RFC

Based upon 3 nominations from the head coaches of each club and 3 points for 1st, 2 points for 2nd, 1 point for 3rd.

Quotes from the RFU Championship Player of the Year nominees:

Leeds full back Stevie McColl said: “It’s absolutely brilliant news – I’ve now got a massive smile on my face hearing I’ve made the shortlist. That feels a nice little achievement! It’s a very high standard in the Championship these days with a lot of players connected to the Premiership, particularly players coming back from injury getting game time in the Championship so we get to play against Premiership players a lot. For the Championship to be included at the RPA Awards will be extremely popular with the players. It’s a great idea to recognise the RFU Championship teams as well. Thank you to everyone involved.

Leave a Reply